Gallery: Nailmaker's Cottage

The Heritage Lottery Fund has enabled the careful dismantling of this unique 19th century nailmaker's cottage, and its reassembly at Avoncroft Museum in Stoke Heath.

The humble two-up, two-down brick cottage with its single-storey nailer’s workshop has survived in Lickey End since the time Bromsgrove was the world capital for nailmaking - when the town produced a staggering four billion nails a year.

The records show that the cottage remained in the same family between 1871-2008, after which the building has stood empty. The cottage is largely unaltered, and has been described by experts as a remarkable find.

Each piece of this building has been documented and relocated to the museum. The rebuild took approximately 18 weeks and now sits proud on the museum site.

Work enabling the fit out (phase 2) is currently on hold whilst the museum attempts to secure further funding.

The internal work will consist of lime plastering, traditional wallpaper, original timber work, internal doors and decoration.